FREE Delivery
$20  (20% off)
FREE Delivery
$26  (20% off)
FREE Delivery
$22  (30% off)
Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors

Walking through Lord Krishna's journey in Gujarat

After leaving Mathura, Lord Krishna traveled throughout the state of Gujarat. The path he covered is popularly known as Lord Krishna's Karma Bhoomi. According to the sacred Puranas, there are seven places that he visited-

  1. Dwarka Nagari: Lord Krishna's voyage to Gujarat begins at Mathura, where he makes his first stop before reaching Gujarat Karmabhoomi Dwarkanagari. The grandeur of Lord Krishna's Karmabhoomi has been granted to Gurjar Dhara, whereas his birthplace Mathura and Balbhoomi have been given to Gokul-Vrindavan. To stop Jarasangha's relentless brutality, Shri Krishna, 28 years old, left Mathura and traveled to Dwarkanagari on the west coast, where he lived among the Yadavas. He abdicated the throne to his father Vasudeva and became a zealous activist in India. In Dwarka, he further motivated the Yadavs and executed Jarasangha to protect the populace from its suffering.

  1. BetDwarka: Lord Krishna's queens inhabited a city in Betdwarka, located in the middle of the sea. Lord Krishna gave approximately 16,000 ladies who had been freed from Nakrkasur's imprisonment shelter. Lord Krishna frequently visited this area to look after these women and took them out for boating in the sea. 

  1. Madhavpur: Rukmini admired the natural beauty of the Nagher Path on the coast. Thus, Lord Krishna married Rukmini when he returned to Dwarka after rescuing Vidarbha Kumari Rukmini. This wedding location eventually became known as Madhavpur.

  1. Junagadh: Girnar, also known as Raivatak Parvat in the Puranas, is also referred to as Ambaji. Here, Lord Krishna constructed a temple dedicated to the Ambaji family deity. Lord Krishna opted not to give his sister's hand in marriage to an unholy man like Duryodhana when Virbhadra decided to marry off Subhadra to Duryodhana. He summoned Arjuna to Girnar, worshipped Kuladevi at the Ambaji temple, and gave Subhadra's hand to Arjuna so he might marry her.

  1. Tulsishyam: Lord Krishna once traveled with Rukmini to Somnath to worship Shiva. They encountered a Ness named Atali in the Gir forest while traveling. While resting there, Rukmini got into a heated discussion and climbed a neighboring hill. Rukmini was convinced after Lord Krishna went to the hill and spoke with her. We are still reminded of them by the Lord Krishna-Rukmini shrine on this mountaintop.

  1. Prabhas Patan: Lord Krishna had a unique bond with the place today known as Somnath. With his family, Lord Krishna traveled to the Somnath temple to worship. The Yadavas turned away, and Lord Krishna was distraught. They arrived with all the forgotten memories as Yugakarma's final stage drew near. When the Yadavas began fighting among themselves, instead of making Shiva the object of their worship, Lord Krishna murdered them all by himself.

  1. Triveni Ghat: In Karmabhoomi, Gujarat, Trivenighat serves as Lord Krishna's final resting place. After destroying the Yadavas, Lord Krishna traveled to the meeting place of the Saraswati, Hiran, and Kapila rivers. Pipal was sitting here, hunched down in pain, his right foot resting on his left leg. Then a hunter by the name of Zara saw the buck and released an arrow. Lord Krishna's right foot is where the hand struck him, causing him to enter Nirvana. Arjuna conducted the burial service for Lord Krishna here on the seventh day following Nirvana.

  1. Bhalka Teerth: When the poacher mistakenly thought Bhagwan Shree Krishna's foot was that of a deer and struck it from a distance, Bhagwan Shree Krishna was lying down in a meditation position beneath a pipal tree. The poacher was graciously pardoned and blessed by Shree Krishna. After a short distance, Shree Krishna arrived at the revered banks of the river Hiran, from which he made his final trek to Needham. A stunning temple and an old peepal tree have immortalized Shree Krishna's divine Leela.


Q1. Is Lord Krishna’s complexion black?

The Sanskrit word "Krishna" is etymologically translated as "black" or "dark." It can also be translated as "all-attractive". Lord Krishna is described in the Vedas as a Dravidian divinity with dark skin.

Q2. Why did Lord Krishna get married to 8 wives? 

Being caught up in dharma, Shri Krishna acknowledged all eight women as his wives with the goal that they carry on with a good life and no one actually thinks about deriding them.