FREE Delivery
Best Seller
Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors
Filter by Price ($8 - $366)

The Legends of Andhra Pradesh’s Tirupati Balaji Temple: The Pillar of Hinduism

The most sacred temple of the Vaishnava sect, the Tirupati Balaji temple is known for its numerous notable Hindu legends. One such legend speaks about the yajna (fire ritual) carried out by important Hindu sages during the Kali Yuga, and their discussion and deliberation about who will be the rightful bearer of the products of their yajna. They decided to send Maharishi Bhrigu to the abodes of the three Supreme Gods of the Hindu Pantheon- Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma; to ascertain who would be the best recipient of the yajna. On his way to the three Supreme Gods, Maharishi Bhrigu remained unrecognized amidst the presence of Lord Brahma, in Satyaloka and Lord Shiva, in Kailasha; which infuriated him. When he reached Lord Vishnu’s abode, Vaikanta, he witnessed him resting with Goddess Lakshmi at his feet. He mistook Vishnu’s resting stance as him ignoring the great sage and kicked Vishnu in his chest. This angered Goddess Lakshmi who left Vaikanta; unknown to the fact that in his human form, Srinivasa, Lord Vishnu had married the daughter of Akasaraja, Padmavati. When the Goddess caught wind of the situation, she rushed to the spiritual town of Tirumala where the Tirupati Balaji Temple now stands, to ask Lord Vishnu about his marriage. The two maidens asked Lord Brahma to turn them into stones, as they wished to be with Vishnu forever- Padmavati on his right chest, Goddess Lakshmi on his left. The Tirupati Balaji Temple has been referenced in a few scholarly works and sacred texts or Puranas like Varaha Purana and Bhavishyottara Purana.

Several Puranas like the Garuda Purana, Markandeya Purana, Varaha Purana and the Brahma Purana extensively talk about how the devoted worship of the deity of Tirupati Balaji Temple, Lord Venkateshwara is one of the purest and quickest way to seek salvation and freedom from the exhaustive cycle of birth and death. 

The Nine Beliefs of Hinduism

Much of our perspectives and attitudes are shaped by what we believe in- our religious leanings. Religious beliefs involving matters of the soul, the Almighty and the creation of the world as we know today are the cornerstone of how we perceive life. The Hindu religious system thus has nine such beliefs-

  1. Hindus have faith in an extraordinary absolute reality, the creator of the universe, the God, the Brahman.

  2. The Four Vedas, the sacred Hindu texts, are the bedrocks of the Hindu faith. They are also the base of the eternal religion, Sanatan Dharma.

  3. Hindus accept that the universe goes through a cyclic pattern of creation, existence and disintegration.

  4. Karma plays a huge role in the lives of Hindus. Karma alludes to the law of circumstances and logical results, which sets forth what happens in an individual’s life as a result of their conscious choice, deeds and perspectives.

  5. Hindus accept the occurrence of the resurrection of the soul; as they believe that we can kill the body, but not the soul; developing through many births until all karmas have been settled, and moksha, freedom from the endless cycle of birth and death, is achieved.

  6. As heavenly Gods and Goddesses exist in a different plane than ours, Hindus believe that idol worship, temples and other forms of pujas and religious rituals are the perfect way of building a bond with them.

  7. Hindus have a strong faith in the existence of a Satguru, the enlightened master who will show the path to the Transcendent Absolute.

  8. Hindus practice the ideals of Ahimsa, as they view each life as sacred.

  9. Hindus accept that no religion shows the best way to salvation, yet each one is deserving of respect and understanding.


Q1. Who are the main Gods of Hinduism?

The three main gods of the Hindu faith are Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma.

Q2. What is the female power in Hinduism called?

The female creative energy in Hinduism is called Shakti, and its devotees are a part of Shaktism.

Q3. How many types of books are there in Hinduism?

Generally speaking, there are 18 sources that are highly revered. Every aspect of human life is covered in Hindu texts, including art, economics, philosophy, relationships, logic, and language. The 4 Vedas (Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda, and Atharvaveda) contain ritual elements. There are 200+ Upanishads (philosophical treatises) under these 4 Vedas. To support the study of the 4 Vedas, there are ancillary disciplines that are grouped into 6 collections called the Vedangas. The Puranas, Dharmashastras, Mimasa, and Nyaya provide everyday guidance. There are 3 groups of manuals that impact the daily life of Hindus – Dharmasutras, Grihaysutras, and Agamas.