Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors
Filter by Price ($7 - $2093)

Everything you need to know about Kannada and its extravagant history

Kannada is known for its literary finesse among all the Dravidian languages. It is the official language of the South Indian state of Karnataka and the states bordering it. There are numerous ethnic and social variants of Kannada, and there are clear boundaries between official and informal speech.


Governed by a slew of powerful Hindu lineages, that influenced its religious culture, and its social hierarchy, Karnataka is strongly associated with its Hindu roots.  Regardless of the fact that the gurus who propagated Hinduism all throughout the nation and the state were themselves ascetics, these events have reinforced the "Householder tradition," which is one of orderly domestic bliss. Both Lingayat and Brahminical sects of Karnataka devoted the majority of their devotion to Vishnu and Shiva throughout the Bhakti movement. The Bhakti movement, which emphasizes divine grace, is a form of devotion in Hinduism. The Bhakti Movement, prompted a profound paradigm shift in the state of Karnataka's socio-political attitude. The fundamental principle of this philosophy, advanced by the Virashaiva school or Virashaivism  was hostility to the caste system, rejection of the Brahmins' authority, abhorrence of ceremonial sacrifice, and insistence on Bhakti and the worship of Shiva as the sole deity.


Karnataka and the Kannada language have a rich literary heritage. The earliest known piece of Kannada literature is thought to be King Nripatunga's "Kavirajamarga." It serves as evidence that Kannada was a well- grown creative language at the time Kavirajamarga,a treatise on poetics or a manual for poets, was written in 9th century AD. The majority of the earliest Kannada manuscripts still in existence are religiously themed poems produced by Jain poets. One of the most outstanding of these is the Rmyaa of Abhinava Pampa's Ramayana, a Jain adaptation of the well-known epic of the same name. Nemicandra's Lilavati, a tale of love between a prince and a princess, is the first piece of literature in Kannada that can be regarded as a novel. The Rajasekharavilasa, a fantasy story by Aakasharadeva in both verse and prose, is one of the most well-known Kannada masterpieces. 


There are some prominent Hindu philosophical thoughts knowledge about whom have been time and again, translated in Kannada-

  1. Tattva Shastra: Tattvas, as per as Vedic wisdom, is anything that acts as the building blocks of your human experience. They are considered to be a component of deities in multiple religions. Despite the fact that the number of tattvas changes, they are believed to be the foundation of all of our perceptions. According to the Samkhya school of thought, the universe is made up of two timeless entities called Purusha and Prakrti. As a result, it has a strong dualist background. The Prakriti is the origin of all material existence, whereas the Purusha is the center of consciousness. Samkhya's twenty-five-tattva doctrine, which postulates that Prakriti is the origin of the universe of becoming, focuses primarily on the outward manifestation of creation. It is the initial tattva and is thought to be nothing more than pure potentiality that gradually transforms into the other twenty-four tattvas or principles.

  2. Dharma: Dharma refers to the behavior that is considered to be in harmony with Rta, the order that gives life and the cosmos their ability to exist, and is one of the four elements of the Purusartha, the goals of life, in Hinduism. Dharma refers to the behavior that is considered to be in harmony with Rta, the order that gives life and the cosmos their ability to exist, and is one of the four elements of the Purusartha, the goals of life, in Hinduism.


Jyotisha or Jyotishya is derived from Isvara, and  from the Sanskrit word Jyotia, which indicates "celestial body." The Vedanga Jyotisha is among the earliest known Vedic astronomy works. Several academics assume that Hellenistic traditions had an impact on Indian astrology, however this is a contentious issue because other research suggests that Jyotisha developed independently, even if it may have interacted with Greek astrology. The Saptarishi, or Seven Sages, included a sage by the name of Bhrigu, who is believed to have developed Vedic Astrology. He is also largely regarded as the Father of Vedic Astrology as a result of this.


Q1. Who are the seven great Hindu sages?

Agastya, Atri, Bhardwaja, Gautam, Jamadagni, Vashistha and Vishvamitra.

Q2. What is Darakaraka in Vedic astrology?

Darakaraka points to your future spouse. It is associated with the planet with the lowest degrees in the birth chart and becomes the significator of the spouse.